Digital Depth?

As I journey and learn more about myself as a teacher and as a digital citizen, it becomes more apparent that it is not a journey one should take on their own for sure.  The influence that I have on others, in the digital world, is not about the number of (online) places I visit or the quantity of the comments I make but should be measured by the relationships, connections and learning opportunities that I have invested time in.

I’ve discovered a number of ways to do this:

  1. Keep my posts real and relevant – Having an opinion is well and good but I also think that it’s important to make sure that I’m reading and reflecting before I comment.
  2. Don’t be fearful – There are so many options to make connections (see point below re: communities) but it’s more than that!  Making mistakes along the way (in terms of tool choices, design and content of posts, certain connections that one makes in the initial stages of building your online presence) is part of the learning cycle and an essential one at that.
  3. Keep an open mind – I have also discovered that working alongside those who are passionate about others’ learning has impacted on the way I approach my incorporation of technology – as a means and not an end to achieving connectedness. To be open minded creates spaces for learning, in my own mind, and reflects back in my practice and in the way I provide room for others to engage with me. Sharing my expertise is a privilege but I am NOT the expert…we are co-experts as we co-construct our understanding and make deeper connections.
  4. Connecting with a few real people is better than being a digital shadow – in  a previous post I commented on sieving digital noise. Similarly, I make an effort to keep connected with a few people. It isn’t really possible to be real with 1000 on Twitter is it?
  5. Build communities –  One way that I’ve found that attends to points 1 & 2 and 3 (all in one place) is the use of the Diigo library.   It is not often you find a digital tool that provides breadth and depth for learning – Diigo is that tool! I know there are others – many learning management systems (LMS) have done this for some time BUT what makes this different is that it is open, free and accessible to everyone (although you can pay for more bells and whistles – there’s no real need)!
  6. Never stop asking questions – In this way I will be able to keep learning, stay real and relevant, connect with others and learn from others in community.

How do you achieve digital depth? Leave me a comment.

About msolpersson

I love to learn! Love to try and make learning fun and interactive! Really enjoy nature and walking for exercise! https://www.vizify.com/mariapersson
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

